Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department
CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT APPLICATION
You may begin the renewal process for your permit at any time, but no credit will be provided for unused time. We
recommend starting the process 120 days BEFORE the permit expires. This will ensure the continuity of your permit.
An additional, non-refundable late fee will be assessed on all renewals that have expired. If a permit has been
expired more than 365 days, the application for renewal shall be treated as an initial application. Renewal
applications require the same documentation as an initial application.
5. DUPLICATE/CHANGE OF ADDRESS/CHANGE OF NAME
a. Duplicate: A non-refundable fee is required to replace a lost, stolen or destroyed permit. Additionally, an
affidavit or written statement must be completed.
b. Change of Address: Under Nevada law, you are required to notify this office in writing within 30 days of
changing your address. Failure to comply will result in a penalty fee being assessed.
c. Change of Name: A non-refundable fee is required to change your name on your permit.
A non-refundable fingerprint and investigation processing fee is required at the time of application; please refer to
the LVMPD website www.lvmpd.com/permits for current fee information and payment types accepted.
You are NOT eligible to carry a Concealed Firearm Permit if any of the following apply:
You are under 21 years of age, unless you meet the military exemption.
You do not provide the required documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm.
You are a fugitive from justice.
You have been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane.
You have been admitted to a mental health facility, within the last 5 years
You have habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that your normal
faculties are impaired, including DUI convictions within five previous years and Medical Marijuana Patients.
You have been convicted of a crime involving the use, or threatened use of force or violence, including
misdemeanor convictions, within the last three (3) years.
You have been convicted of a felony.
You have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or you are currently subject to a
restraining order or other order of protection against violence.
You are currently on parole or probation.
You have been, within the preceding five (5) years, subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a
Withholding the entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony, or
Suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony, or
Indictment by a Grand Jury.
You have made a false statement on any application.
13. You were dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
14. You are not lawfully admitted into or are no longer lawfully within the United States.
15. You are prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal law, city and/or county ordinances.
8. ISSUANCE OF PERMIT
Allow 120 days for your permit to be issued; this applies to both initial and renewal permit applications. Upon
approval, your permit will be mailed to you. In the event your application is denied, you will be notified in writing,
stating the reason(s) for denial. You may seek judicial review of the denial by filing a petition in District Court.
9. CARRYING OF PERMIT
Your concealed firearms permit is valid throughout the State of Nevada. For specific prohibited locations, refer to
Nevada Revised Statute 202.3673. When you are in possession of a concealed firearm, you must carry the permit
and your driver’s license/state identification. Both the permit and proper identification must be presented if
requested by a peace officer.
Page 2 of 7