2022 Form MO-1040ES Declaration Of Estimated Tax For Individuals - General Instructions
1. Filing requirements - You are required to file a declaration of
estimated tax if your Missouri estimated tax is expected to be
$100.00 or more (Section 143.521.1, RSMo).
2. Missouri estimated tax - Your Missouri estimated tax is the
amount estimated to be the income tax under Chapter 143
RSMo, for the tax year, less the amount which you estimate to
be the sum of any credits allowable, including tax withheld.
3. Farmers - If you have an estimated Missouri gross income from
farming for the tax year that equals at least two-thirds of the
total estimated Missouri gross income, you may file a
declaration of estimated tax and make payment at any time on
or before January 15, or file an income tax return and pay in full
on or before March 1.
4. Payment of estimated tax - Your estimated tax may be paid in
full with the first declaration voucher, or in equal installments on
or before April 15, June 15, Sep tem ber 15, and January 15. If
the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the
voucher will be considered timely if filed on the next business
day. Actual due dates are printed on the vouchers. The first
installment must accompany the first declaration voucher. If no
declaration was required to be filed during the tax year, no
declaration need be filed on January 15, if you file a voucher
and pay the tax on or before January 31.
5. Nonresident - If you are a nonresident, your estimated tax
requirement is the same as a resident. A nonresident’s tax is
based on the proportion of the adjusted gross income from
Missouri sources. Example: An individual has Missouri tax of
$400 on all income, with 90% of the adjusted gross income from
Missouri; the Missouri estimated tax is $360 (90% of $400).
6. Changes in income - Even if your Missouri estimated tax on
April 15 is such that you are not required to file a declaration at
that time, the Missouri estimated tax may change so that you
will be required to file at a later date. The time for filing is as
follows: June 15, if the change occurs after April 15, and before
June 15, September 15, if the change occurs after June 15, but
before September 15, January 15, if the change occurs after
September 15. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or
legal holiday, the voucher will be considered timely if filed on
the next business day.
7. Amended declaration - If, after you have filed a declaration, you
find the Missouri estimated tax substantially increased or
de creased as a result of a change in income, an amended
declaration should be filed on or before the next filing date.
Please complete the Amended Estimated Tax Worksheet and
show the amended Missouri estimated tax on Line 1 of the next
Form MO-1040ES filed.
8. Addition to tax for failure to pay estimated tax - The law
provides an addition to tax, determined at the present
applicable rate of interest from the date of the first installment
underpaid. Interest will be charged on all delinquent payments.
for the current interest rate. The charge does not apply to you
if each installment is paid on time and the total amount of all
payments of estimated tax made on or before the last date
prescribed for payment of such installment equals or exceeds:
a) the tax shown on the preceding year’s return if that return
was for a 12 month period and showed a tax liability; or
b) 90% (66 2/3% in the case of a farmer) of the total amount
due for the current year.
9. Rounding on Missouri returns -You must round all cents to the
nearest whole dollar on your return. For cents .01 through .49,
round down to the previous whole dollar amount (round $32.49
down to $32.00) on the return. For cents .50 through .99, round
up to the next whole dollar amount (round $32.50 up to $33.00)
on the return. For your convenience, the zeros have already
been placed in the cent columns on the returns.
Go to mytax.mo.gov/rptp/portal/home/indiv-income-tax-calculator/ and enter
your taxable income for assistance in calculating your tax.
Form MO-1040ES Tax Rate Chart
Use the amount from Line 9 (Missouri taxable income) to calculate your Missouri tax. If you are filing combined, you must calculate
separate tax amounts and enter the amounts on 10Y for yourself and 10S for your spouse. The total amount should be entered on Line
10T. Single filers should enter the tax amount on Line 10T.
If the Missouri taxable income is: The tax is:
$0 to $111 $0
At least $112 but not over $1,121 1.5% of the Missouri taxable income
Over $1,121 but not over $2,242 $17 plus 2.0% of excess over $1,121
Over $2,242 but not over $3,363 $39 plus 2.5% of excess over $2,242
Over $3,363 but not over $4,484 $67 plus 3.0% of excess over $3,363
Over $4,484 but not over $5,605 $101 plus 3.5% of excess over $4,484
Over $5,605 but not over $6,726 $140 plus 4.0% of excess over $5,605
Over $6,726 but not over $7,847 $185 plus 4.5% of excess over $6,726
Over $7,847 but not over $8,968 $235 plus 5.0% of excess over $7,847
Over $8,968 .............................. $291 plus 5.3% of excess over $8,968
• Example 1: If Line 9 is $4,000, the tax
would be computed as follows: $67 + $19.11
(3% of $637) = $86.11 The whole dollar
amount to enter on Line 10 would be $86.
• Example 2: If Line 9 is $12,300, the tax
would be computed as follows: $291 + $176.60
(5.3% of $3,332) = $467.60. The amount to enter
on Line 10 would be $468.