OREGON TRAFFIC ACCIDENT AND INSURANCE REPORT
Oregon law requires these reports be filed within 72 hours of the accident. If you are not able to file within the 72 hours, submit
it as soon as possible. If you fail to report the accident to DMV, it may result in suspension of your driving privileges. If the police
department files a police report, you are still required to file your own Accident and Insurance Report with DMV. If you are an
out-of-state resident, you are still required to file your own Accident Report with DMV. DMV does not determine fault in an
accident, but does post the accident to the driving record of those drivers required to report, unless the vehicle is parked.
If you have questions, please call the Accident Unit at (503) 945-5098.
Tear this sheet off your report, read and carefully follow the directions.
ONLY drivers involved in an accident resulting in any of the following MUST file an Accident & Insurance Report:
Damage to your vehicle is over $2500
Injury (No matter how minor)
Damage to any one person’s property over $2500
Any vehicle has damage over $2500 and any vehicle is
towed from the scene as a result of damages
PURSUANT TO OREGON INSURANCE LAW, AN INSURANCE COMPANY CAN NOT REQUIRE REPAIRS BE MADE TO A
MOTOR VEHICLE BY A PARTICULAR PERSON OR REPAIR SHOP.
RECEIPT — Attached is a PINK courtesy copy of your report. After you have completed both sides of the form, tear the PINK
copy off for your records. If you want a receipt, bring the form, with the PINK copy, to a DMV office and have your copy
validated. Without a receipt, you will have no proof of submitting a report.
YOUR COPY — Under Oregon law ORS 802.220 (5), DMV can not provide you a copy of your Oregon Traffic Accident and
Insurance Report. If you wish to have a complete copy of your report (front and back), you will need to make a copy for your
COMPLETING AND FILING REPORT
OTHER SIDE OF FORM — Complete the other side of the form. Information collected from both sides of this form is used by
DMV and other officials in making valuable transportation decisions about the roadway systems and driver safety.
OTHER VEHICLE (# 2) — Completion of this information will help DMV match all driver's accident reports more efficiently. If
additional vehicles were involved in the accident, complete attached Supplemental Report (Form 735-32B).
DESCRIPTION AND SIGNATURE — Describe what happened. It is important for you to sign and date the form. Only a family
member may sign and date this form on behalf of a driver when the driver is incapacitated or physically unable to sign. No other
signatures will be accepted.
DATE, LOCATION AND TIME — Clearly identify the date, location and time of the accident. The correct date, location and time
is critical to processing your report. If you are unsure of the county, contact any local law enforcement agency for assistance.
Complete both sides of the form.
If additional vehicles were involved in the accident, complete the attached Supplemental Report (Form 735-32B), or on
a blank piece of paper, write all the information as requested in Section 4, the “Other Driver” Section.
DMV Headquarters will verify the insurance information submitted. Complete the insurance section or a suspension of
your driving privileges may occur.
PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION. (Use black or dark blue ink and press firmly.)
MAIL — Mail the form to Accident Reporting Unit, DMV, 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314 or FAX to (503) 945- 5267, or
deliver it to any DMV office.
YOUR VEHICLE (# 1) — DMV will consider your accident uninsured if you do not complete ALL of this section. You must list
the insurance company name (not agent) and policy number that provided liability coverage for your operation of the vehicle
you were driving at the time of the accident. Note the coverage is for liability insurance, not collision or comprehensive
coverage. DMV will verify this information with the insurance company. If the insurance company denies the coverage, DMV will
suspend your Oregon driving privileges.
Answer all of the questions in Section 3. DMV will use the information provided in these questions to code the accident. It is
important for you to understand “principal purpose of driving” and “paid to drive.” These include ONLY persons employed or
being paid for the purpose of driving, NOT driving to reach a destination to perform a service. Property includes, but is not
limited to, fixed or real property, landscaping, signs, parked vehicles, and animals.
COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE OPERATORS: In addition to this report, Oregon Administrative Rule requires that Form
735-9229, Motor Carrier Crash Report, MUST be filed within 30 days of a commercial motor vehicle accident when there is a
FATALITY, INJURY (requiring treatment away from the scene), or when a vehicle is TOWED from the scene because of
disabling damage. Form 735-9229 (attached on back) MUST be submitted with Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report
(Form 735-32) to DMV. Call (503) 986-3507 for questions regarding the Motor Carrier Crash Report.