The following restrictions apply to the possession of firearms, to purchase/transfer permits, and reports of transfer for handguns and
semiautomatic military-style assault weapons. Individuals with restrictions shall not be entitled to possess a pistol or any other firearm. The
legal basis for the restrictions may be found in federal law (18 United States Code § 922) or Minnesota law (Minnesota Statutes, §§ 253B.02,
624.712, 624.713. 624.7131 or 624.714).
Must be at least 21 years old to purchase a handgun or handgun ammunition from a federally licensed dealer.
Must be at least 18 years old to purchase a semi-automatic assault rifle.
Must not have been convicted, adjudicated delinquent or convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile of a crime of violence in Minnesota or
elsewhere unless civil rights have been restored and during that time you have not been convicted of any other crime of violence.
NOTE: This lifetime prohibition on possessing, receiving, shipping, or transporting firearms for persons convicted or adjudicated
delinquent of a crime of violence applies only to offenders who are discharged from sentence or court supervision for a crime of
violence on or after August 1, 1993.
Must not have been charged with a crime of violence or placed in a pretrial diversion program by the court before disposition until you have
completed the diversion program and the charge of committing the crime of violence has been dismissed.
Must not have been convicted of fifth-degree assault as defined in Minnesota Statutes, §609.224 or assault as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
§609.2242 or a similar offense in another state where the victim was a family or household member since August 1, 1992. Additional restrictions
• Must not have been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 18 United States Code section 922(g)(9).
Federal law prohibits the possession of a firearm for anyone convicted in any court of a qualified misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
• Must not be subject to a court order that (1) was issued after a hearing of which you had actual notice and at which you had an opportunity to
participate; (2) restrains you from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner, a child of an intimate partner, or your own child, or
engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in a reasonable fear of bodily injury to that person or a child; and (3) includes a
finding that you represent a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate partner or child or by its terms explicitly prohibits the use,
attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury.
• Must not be an unlawful user of any controlled substance as defined in Chapter 152 of Minnesota Statutes.
• Must not be a person who is or has ever been committed by a judicial determination for treatment for the habitual use of a controlled substance as
defined in Minnesota Statutes, §§ 152.01 and 152.02, unless the person's ability to possess a firearm has been restored under Minnesota Statutes,
§624.713, subdivision 4 and must not have been convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor violation of
Chapter152 of Minnesota
Statutes, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and duri
ng that time the person has not
been convicted of any other such violation of Chapter 152 of Minnesota Statutes or a similar law of another state.
• Must not have been committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as chemically dependent unless you have completed treatment or
your civil rights to possess a firearm have been restored.
• Must not have been judicially committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as "mentally ill," "developmentally disabled” or “mentally
defective," or "mentally ill and dangerous to the public."
• Must not be a peace officer who has been informally admitted to a treatment facility for chemical dependency unless you possess a certificate from
the head of the treatment facility discharging or provisionally discharging you from that facility.
Must not have been conv
in Minnesota or elsewhere of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year (other than for offenses
restraints of trade, or
relating to the regulation of business practices) unless
your civil rights have been restored or the conviction has been pardoned, expunged, or set aside.
• Must not be a fugitive from justice as a result of having fled from any state to avoid prosecution for a crime or to avoid giving testimony in any
• Must not be an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States.
• Must not have been discharged from the armed forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions.
• Must not have renounced your United States citizenship.
Must not have
been convicted of a gross misdemeanor level crime committed for the benefit of a gang (§609.229); assault motivated by bias
(§609.2231, subd. 4); false imprisonment (§609.255); neglect or endangerment of a child (§609.378); burglary in 4th degree (§609.582 subd. 4);
setting a spring gun (§609.665); riot (§609.71) or harassment and stalking (§609.749), unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction
and during that time you have not been convicted of any other violation
of these sections. (All references are to Minnesota Statutes.)
• Must not be under a qualified domestic abuse restraining order as defined in 18 United States Code section 922 (g)(8) or (9) as amended through
March 1, 2014.
Rev. 2015 3