A determination must be made as to where the vehicle was last registered. Ownership can only be obtained through a court order if a determination cannot be
made as to where the vehicle was last registered.
This process cannot be used by any storage facility/claimant (licensed or otherwise) in conjunction with a law enforcement authorized tow. Storage fees for law
enforcement authorized tows may only be assessed by licensed vehicle storage facilities by using the VTR-265-VSF.
FOR MORE INFORMATION – You may refer to the TxDMV Motor Vehicle Title Manual (Chapter 23).
• Consent: Possession of vehicle by the storage facility/claimant is by consent when authorized by the vehicle’s owner or an authorized operator. A written,
dated contract (with expiration date) authorizing storage is required. Under consent possession, the storage facility/claimant must notify law enforcement;
however, the “Notice to Remove Vehicle” is only required if more than 5 days of storage fees are assessed.
• Non-Consent: Possession of vehicle under city ordinance or state law is considered non-consent. Under non-consent possession, the storage
facility/claimant must send the “Notice to Remove Vehicle” and notify law enforcement regardless of number of days of assessed storage fees.
2. NOTICE TO REMOVE VEHICLE – Within 5 days (if registered in Texas) or 14 days (if registered outside of Texas) of contract expiring (consent) or obtaining
possession (non-consent), the storage facility/claimant must notify the last known owner(s) and all lienholder(s) of record by certified mail, return receipt
requested. The notice must contain a request to remove the vehicle, request for payment, the location of the vehicle, and the amount of accrued charges.
Notice by newspaper publication may be permitted (see “Notification by Newspaper” below).
3. NOTIFICATION TO LAW ENFORCEMENT – A motor vehicle is considered abandoned (Transportation Code, Section 683.031) after the 10th day after the
contract expires (consent) or after the 10th day after the “Notice to Remove Vehicle” (non-consent) is made. The storage facility/claimant must report the
vehicle as abandoned to the law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where the vehicle is located within 7 days of the determination the vehicle is
abandoned. No storage fees may be assessed if law enforcement is notified after the 7th day; however, any other fees remain valid.
4. PUBLIC SALE – The storage facility/claimant (or their authorized agent) may sell the vehicle at public sale to the highest bidder if charges are not paid, AND law
enforcement does not take the vehicle into custody before the 31
day after the notification to law enforcement. The proceeds shall be applied to the
payment of charges, and the balance shall be paid to the person entitled to them.
Note: Notice from law enforcement of its intention to dispose of the vehicle is considered law enforcement taking custody even if they do not take physical
custody before the 31st day.
5. APPLICATION FOR TITLE – The highest bidder at public sale must apply for title unless the vehicle is purchased by a licensed motor vehicle dealer with a
current General Distinguishing Number (GDN).
NOTIFICATION BY NEWSPAPER – In lieu of written notification to the owner(s) and any applicable lienholder(s) by certified mail, publication of the notice in a
newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the vehicle is stored may be used only if all of the following apply:
1. The vehicle is registered in another state.
2. The storage facility/claimant submits a written request by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the governmental entity with which the motor vehicle is
registered requesting information relating to the identity of the last known owner(s) and any lienholder(s) of record.
3. The storage facility/claimant:
• is advised in writing by the governmental entity with which the motor vehicle is registered that the entity is unwilling or unable to provide information on
the last known owner(s) or any lienholder(s) of record, or
• does not receive a response from the governmental entity with which the motor vehicle is registered on or before the 21st day after the request under (2) is
4. The identity of the last known owner of record cannot be determined.
5. The registration does not contain an address for the last known owner of record.
6. The identities and addresses of the lienholders of record cannot be determined.
Note: The storage facility/claimant is not required to publish notice if a correctly addressed notice is sent with sufficient postage and is returned as unclaimed,
refused, the forwarding order has expired, or with a notation that the addressee is unknown or has moved without leaving a forwarding address.
Evidence Required to Transfer Ownership
1. Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U)
2. Storage Lien Foreclosure (Form VTR-265-S)
3. Verification of Title and Registration – Verification of title and registration from the state of record. If not available, the following must be provided:
• If a storage facility/claimant sends a request for title and registration verification to the state of record (by certified mail, return receipt requested)
and is informed by letter from that state that due to the Driver's Privacy Protection Act restrictions the state will forward the claimant's notification
to the owner(s) and lienholder(s) for notification purposes, then the original letter(s) from the state of record and certified receipts for each
notification sent to that state, or
• If notification is made by newspaper publication, proof that a correctly addressed request for the name and address of the last known registered
owner(s) and lienholder(s) was sent to the state of record (by certified mail, return receipt requested). Proof consists of a copy of the request and
date stamped certified return receipts for the notification sent to the state of record.
4. Proof of Notifications
• Notice to Remove Vehicle (only if applicable, see #2 in “Foreclosure Procedures”) – Proof consists of the date stamped receipts for certified mail and
return receipt, together with any unopened certified letter(s) returned as undeliverable, unclaimed, refused, or no forwarding address. Note: Track
and Confirm is not acceptable in lieu of the certified mail return receipt.
• Notice by Newspaper Publication (only if applicable) – Proof consists of the certified mail, return receipt, sent to the state of record requesting
verification of owner(s) and lienholder(s) AND a legible photocopy of the newspaper publication that includes the name and date of the publication.
• Notification to Law Enforcement (one of the following) – Dated receipt showing $10 administrative fee was paid; completion of the “Law
Enforcement Certification” on page 1; or certified mail, return receipt, to the law enforcement agency.
5. Release of Lien(s) – A release of lien is required if a lien is indicated on the title/registration verification.
6. Written Contract – A copy of the written, dated contract (containing an expiration date) for the vehicle to be stored on the premises of the storage
facility/claimant is required if possession was by consent of the owner or an authorized operator.
7. City Ordinance – A copy of the city ordinance must be attached if possession was obtained under a city ordinance.
8. Liability Insurance – A copy of current proof of liability insurance in the applicant's name if applying for registration.
9. Out of State Vehicles – Texas Vehicle Inspection Report (and certified weight certificate if the vehicle is a commercial vehicle).
VTR-265-S Rev 09/19
Form available online at www.TxDMV.gov Page 2 of 2