AVAILABILITY: Some records are on file dating back to 1877, but not all events were registered.
ELIGIBILITY (Section 382.025, Florida Statutes):
WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a certified copy of a death record without the cause of death
on the record.
CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. Death records
less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to:
the decedent’s spouse or parent;
to the decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;
to any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of
to any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons, OR
by court order
All requests for certification of a death certificate that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility or be
accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH Form 1959) signed by an eligible person (form is available
on our website) and a copy of valid photo identification of both the person authorizing release and the applicant If you are uncertain about
eligibility for cause of death information, call (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance.
A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the name and
relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive
cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH Form 1959, available on our website) must
accompany this request.
SPECIAL NOTE: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with “cause of death information included” when filing probate.
DATE OF DEATH NOT KNOWN: If date of death is unknown, the entire year specified will be searched. If the year is unknown and more
than one year is to be searched, specify the span of years to be searched (Example: 1970 to present) and pay $2.00 per year for each year to be
PROCESSING TIME: Normal response time within our office is 4-6 business days; however, the processing time can exceed this
OPTIONS FOR RUSH SERVICE:
CREDIT CARDS: The state office currently does not accept credit cards but there is a private firm that accepts such charges and transfers the order to Vital
Statistics for a fee of $7.00 plus a $10.00 Rush Fee charged by the State Office. Telephone 1-877-550-7330 or fax the request to the private firm at 1-877-550-
7428. Call (904) 359-6900 and follow the prompts on the telephone system to be transferred free of charge to the contracted vendor. For questions, please call
the Office of Vital Statistics at (904) 359-6900, ext. 9000 and our Customer Services personnel will be able to assist you.
MAIL IN: Orders marked RUSH and with $10 rush fee included with the search fee, will be processed within our office within 2-3 days. Certification(s) will
be mailed 1
class mail UNLESS a prepaid self-addressed special mailing envelope is included with your request. If choosing 1
class mail, including a self-
addressed stamped envelope with your request is appreciated.
WALK-IN SERVICE: Is available at 1217 North Pearl Street. Orders prepaid before noon may be picked up after 3:30p.m the same day. Orders
prepaid after noon may be picked up after 10:00 a.m. the next business day.
FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE: If no record is found, a “Not Found” statement will be issued. Fees are nonrefundable, except fees
paid for additional copies when no record is found. These are refunded on written request.
MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS
ATTN: VITAL RECORDS SECTION
P.O. BOX 210,
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
(Street Address: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202)
PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE