DP-1 Instructions (REV 04/2020) 2020 California Secretary of State
Instructions for Completing the
Declaration of Domestic Partnership (Form DP-1)
A domestic partnership shall be established in California when both persons file a Declaration of Domestic
Partnership (Form DP-1) with the Secretary of State.
Effective January 1, 2020, all couples regardless of age or sexual orientation that are eligible to be married may
register with the California Secretary of State as domestic partners.
Registered domestic partners have the same rights, protections, and benefits, and are subject to the same
responsibilities, obligations, and duties under California law as are granted to and imposed upon spouses.
In circumstances when a registered domestic partnership meets all the requirements listed in Section 299(a)
domestic partnership may be terminated by filing a Notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership form with the
California Secretary of State.
• The fee for filing Form DP-1 is $33.00 if both partners are under the age of 62.
• The fee for filing Form DP-1 is $10.00 if either partner is 62 or older.
• A separate, non-refundable $15.00 special handling fee is required if you submit in person (drop off) your
completed document at our Sacramento or Los Angeles office.
• The certification fee is $5.00 for each certified copy requested. Certified copies are optional.*
One plain copy of the filed Declaration of Domestic Partnership and a Certificate of Registration of Domestic
Partnership will be provided to the partners once the Declaration is filed with our office.
*It is common for other entities (e.g., California DMV, Social Security Administration, medical insurance provider,
etc.) to request proof of a domestic partnership once filed. California Family Law provides that a certified copy of the
Declaration of Domestic Partnership is acceptable as proof the Domestic Partnership is filed with the Secretary of
Payment Type: Options vary by method of submission. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the
Secretary of State.
• By mail, the Sacramento office accepts payment made by check or money order.
• In person, the Sacramento office accepts payment made by check, money order, cash, or credit card (Visa or
• In person, the Los Angeles office accepts payment made by check, money order, or credit card (Visa or
Mastercard). The Los Angeles office does not accept cash.
If you are not completing this form online, please type or legibly print in black or blue ink. Complete the
Declaration of Domestic Partnership (Form DP-1) as follows:
These statements are required by
statute and must not be altered.
Enter the current names of Partner 1
and Partner 2.
• If there is a suffix, e.g. Jr., III, etc., include this as part of the
Optional: Either partner has the option
of changing their middle or last names
upon registration of a Domestic
Partnership. If choosing to do so, enter
• Can adopt the following middle or last names:
− Current last name of the other domestic partner.