Notice of Claim Instructions
If you wish to make a claim against the State of New Jersey, please read the
The State of New Jersey is protected from Tort actions by State Statute Title
59, and more specifically, Chapter 9, Paragraph 2e. Simply stated, Title 59:
9-2e means that, if you have insurance to cover "physical damage" to your
property, the money you are entitled to receive under such policy of insurance
shall be deducted from your claim against the State.
To expedite settlement of your claim, we ask that you settle your physical
damage with your physical damage insurance carrier.
You may submit a claim for your deductible by forwarding a copy of your
estimate and a copy of the declaration sheet showing the amount of your
physical damage deductible to the address listed below.
If you do not have "physical damage" coverage and wish to submit a claim,
please forward an estimate for the damage, a copy of the declaration sheet from
your insurance policy, and complete the enclosed Tort claim form.
Since all claims which are filed against the State of New Jersey must be filed
within 90 days of their occurrence, we suggest that your documentation be sent
via certified mail. Although this is not required, it will insure that you have
proof of receipt by this office.
Please allow a minimum of 90 days for a reply to your claim submittals.
Mail your response to:
Dept. of Treasury
Bureau of Risk Management
P.O. Box 620
Trenton, NJ 08625
Attn.: Tort Claims Unit