MO 860-0427 (6-2006) DOR-1140 (6-2006)
MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DRIVER LICENSE BUREAU
MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENT REPORT
(The following information is based on Chapter 303 RSMo.)
Q: When should I file this accident report?
A: File this report if all of the following are true:
The accident happened in Missouri.
The accident happened within the last 12 months.
Someone involved in the accident did not have insurance.
Q: Can I submit the police report instead of completing this accident report?
A: No. The law requires you to report the accident using the attached form.
Q: What happens after this report is filed?
A: An uninsured person’s driver license and/or plates can be taken away for one or both of the following reasons:
• He/she does not show us proof of insurance for the accident.
• He/she is found to be at fault for the accident and does not send secur
ity compliance (see below) to us.
Q: What is security?
A: Security is the amount of money that we find the uninsured person(s) is responsible for based on his/her percentage
of fault for the accident and the amount of damages on file. The most common forms of secur
ity compliance are:
• Installment Agreement: A notarized payment plan agreed to by you and the uninsured person(s).
• Release: A sworn statement from you releasing the uninsured person(s) from responsibility for the accident.
• Cash Deposit: A deposit of cash sent to us from the uninsured person(s) for the full amount of security.
We must return the deposit to the uninsured person(s) after one year from the accident date unless the parties
agree to a settlement or a lawsuit is filed against the person(s) for whom the deposit was made.
The deposit can only be applied toward a judgment against the person(s) for whom the deposit was made.
We will send you instructions on how to obtain the deposit, if one is made.
• One-Year Suspension: The uninsured person(s) can choose to remain suspended for one year instead of submit-
ting security compliance. The suspension can be extended if a lawsuit is filed in court within one year of the acci-
dent date and a copy of the petition is sent to us.
Q: Will the state file the lawsuit?
A: No. You must file the lawsuit in court if you wish to do so.
Q: Will you let me know when the uninsured person’s driver license and/or plates will be suspended?
A: Yes, if you contact us. Please allow up to 90 days for us to process your accident report and determine a percentage
of fault for the accident.
Q: How can I contact you?
A: You may contact us at Driver License Bureau, P.O. Box 200, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0200,
email@example.com or (573) 751-7195.
Q: Is the accident report form available on the Internet?
A: Yes. The Motor Vehicle Accident Report Form is now available in fillable PDF format. Visit our web site at
www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/ for more information.