Application for Registration Revised 04/2020
Health Club Facility – Info
VIRGINIA PRIVACY ACT DISCLOSURE
All information disclosed may be used for law enforcement purposes, including civil enforcement of the Virginia
Consumer Protection Act of 1977 and the Virginia Health Club Act. Pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act,
all information disclosed will be available for inspection by the public.
Effective July 1, 2020, pursuant to §59.1-296.2:2 of the VHCA, ALL health clubs must have a working
automated external defibrillator. Per the definition, an automated external defibrillator means a
device that combines a heart monitor and defibrillator and (i) has been approved by the US Food and
Drug Administration; (ii) is capable of recognizing the presence or absence of ventricular fibrillation or
rapid ventricular tachycardia; (iii) is capable of determining, without intervention by an operator,
whether defibrillation should be performed; and (iv) automatically charges and requests delivery of an
electrical impulse to an individual’s heart upon determining that defibrillation should be performed.
Use the following link: https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/cardiovascular-devices/automated-external-
defibrillators-aeds#approved to verify your AED is FDA approved.
Your bond or letter of credit must be maintained at the level required in the surety schedule contained within
the Act. Failure to maintain the proper surety level will result in late fees as provided by §59.1-296.1, Code of
Virginia, as amended.
You must amend this registration within 21 days if there is a change to the information contained in this
All changes in ownership must be reported to this office 10 days prior to the effective date of change.
If 50% or more of the ownership changes, the facility must register as a new facility at the time of the change in
ownership. Failure to re-register as a new facility will result in late fees of $100 for each thirty-day period or any
part thereof following the date ownership changed.
If no surety is required, your contracts must contain the following disclosure required by §59.1-296.2:1(F): “THIS
CLUB IS NOT PERMITTED, PURSUANT TO THE VIRGINIA HEALTH CLUB ACT, TO ACCEPT ANY INITIATION FEE IN
EXCESS OF $125 OR ANY PAYMENT FOR MORE THAN THE PRORATED MONTHLY FEE FOR THE MONTH WHEN
THE CONTACT IS INITIALLY EXECUTED PLUS ONE FULL MONTH IN ADVANCE.” Please refer to page 2 of the
registration form for surety requirements.
This office will strive to have your registration application and required documents reviewed within 30 days of
the receipt of the registration submission. Before contacting us, please allow sufficient time for review and
processing. During higher activity periods, processing time may be longer.
If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact us at
email@example.com or at 804-786-1343, Option 4.