PROVISIONS OF LAW
Section 316.29545, Florida Statutes, provides for the issuance of medical exemption certificates
to persons who are afflicted with Lupus, (SLE or Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Disease, or other medical conditions, which require a limited exposure to light and are permitted to
have sunscreening material on the windshield, side windows, and windows behind the driver which is
in violation of the requirements of sections 316.2951-316.2957, Florida Statutes. The following medical
conditions require a limited exposure to light in addition to Lupus: Dermatomyositis (Autoimmune
Disease), Albinism, Total or Facial Vitiligo, and Xeroderma Pigmentosum.
PROCEDURES AND INSTRUCTIONS
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS (ORIGINAL):
A. Form HSMV 83390, Application for Sunscreening Medical Exemption, accurately completed,
including the "Physician's Statement of Certification," which must be completed and signed by one of
the following authorities:
Physician licensed to practice under Chapters 458, 459, or 460, Florida Statutes
Dermatologist licensed to practice under Chapter 458, Florida Statutes
Physician who practices medicine in a military medical facility, state hospital or federal prison. The
physician must include the name and address of the facility
An advanced registered nurse practitioner licensed under Chapter 464, under the protocol of
a licensed physician
Physician assistant licensed under chapter 458 or 459, Florida Statutes
B. One of the following proofs of identification is required:
1. A photocopy of a current Florida Driver License
2. A photocopy of a current Florida Identification Card
C. Fees for each applicable vehicle: $ 6.25
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS (DUPLICATE):
Form HSMV 83390, Application for Sunscreening Medical Exemption, accurately completed.
The "Physician's Statement of Certification" section does not have to be completed. The
"Duplicate" block must be checked.
B. Duplicate fees for each vehicle: $ 6.25
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS (LOST-IN-TRANSIT):
Form HSMV 83390, Application for Sunscreening Medical Exemption, accurately completed. The "Physician's
Statement of Certification" section does not have to be completed. The "Lost -in-Transit" block must be
checked. No fee is charged for issuing a replacement when the certificate has been lost-in-transit and a
completed application is submitted within 180 days of the current issue date.
A medical exemption certificate has no expiration date and is non-transferable. It becomes invalid upon the
sale or transfer of the vehicle identified on the certificate.
HSMV 83390 (10/20) www.flhsmv.gov