Instructions for Florida Supreme Court Approved Law Form 12.901(b)(3), Petition for Dissolution of
Marriage with No Dependent or Minor Child(ren) or Property (05/12)
UNCONTESTED... If your spouse files an answer that agrees with everything in your petition or an
answer and waiver, and you have complied with mandatory disclosure and filed all of the required
papers, you may call the clerk, family law intake staff, or judicial assistant to set a final hearing. You
must notify your spouse of the hearing by using a Notice of Hearing (General), Florida Supreme Court
Approved Family Law Form 12.923, or other appropriate notice of hearing form.
CONTESTED... If your spouse files an answer or an answer and counterpetition, which disagrees with or
denies anything in your petition, and you are unable to settle the disputed issues, you should file a
Notice for Trial, Florida Supreme Court Approved Family Law Form 12.924, after you have complied with
mandatory disclosure and filed all of the required papers. Some circuits may require the completion of
mediation before a final hearing may be set. You should contact the clerk, family law intake staff, or
judicial assistant for instructions on how to set your case for trial (final hearing). If the your spouse files
an answer and counterpetition, you should answer the counterpetition within 20 days using an Answer
to Counterpetition, Florida Supreme Court Approved Family Law Form 12.903(d).
Where can I look for more information?
Before proceeding, you should read “General Information for Self-Represented Litigants” found at the
beginning of these forms. The words that are in “bold underline” in these instructions are defined
there. For further information, see chapter 61, Florida Statutes.
If you do not have the money to pay the filing fee, you may obtain an Application for Determination of
Civil Indigent Status from the clerk, fill it out, and the clerk will determine whether you are eligible to
have filing fees deferred.
If you want to keep your address confidential because you are the victim of sexual battery, aggravated
child abuse, aggravated stalking, harassment, aggravated battery, or domestic violence, do not enter the
address, telephone, and fax information at the bottom of this form. Instead, file a Request for
Confidential Filing of Address, Florida Supreme Court Approved Family Law Form 12.980(h).
With this form, you must also file the following:
Affidavit of Corroborating Witness, Florida Supreme Court Approved Family Law Form 12.902(i) OR
photocopy of current Florida driver’s license, Florida identification card, or voter’s registration card
(issue date of copied document must be at least six months before date case is actually filed with
the clerk of the circuit court).
Notice of Social Security Number, Florida Supreme Court Approved Family Law Form 12.902(j).
Family Law Financial Affidavit, Florida Family Law Rules of Procedure Form 12.902(b) or (c). (This
must be filed within 45 days of service of the petition on the respondent, if not filed at the time of
Certificate of Compliance with Mandatory Disclosure, Florida Family Law Rules of Procedure Form
12.932. (This must be filed within 45 days of service of the petition on the respondent, if not filed at
the time of the petition, unless you and your spouse have agreed not to exchange these