FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS
Attached are the instructions to register a foreign limited liability company to transact business in Florida. The requirements are as
Pursuant to s. 605.0902, Florida Statutes, the attached application must be completed in its entirety.
The foreign limited liability company must submit certificate of existence, no more than 90 days old, duly authenticated by the
official having custody of records in the jurisdiction under the law of which it is organized. If the certificate is in a foreign
language, a translation of the certificate under oath of the translator must be submitted.
The name of a limited liability company must be distinguishable on the records of the Florida Department of State. If the name of
your limited liability company is not distinguishable on our records, you must adopt an alternative name to use in the state of
The name of a limited liability company in the state of Florida must contain the words “Limited Liability Company,” The
abbreviation “L.L.C.,” or the designation “LLC.”
A preliminary search for name availability can be made on the Internet through the Division’s records at www.sunbiz.org.
Preliminary name searches and name reservations are no longer available from the Division of Corporations. You are
responsible for any name infringement that may result from your name selection.
The fees to register are as follows:
$ 100.00 Filing Fee for Application
$ 25.00 Designation of Registered Agent
$ 30.00 Certified Copy (optional)
$ 5.00 Certificate of Status (optional)
Important Information About the Requirement to File an Annual Report
All Foreign Limited Liability Companies must file an Annual Report yearly to maintain “active” status. The first report is
due in the year following formation. The report must be filed electronically online between January 1
and May 1
. The fee
for the annual report is $138.75. After May 1
a $400 late fee is added to the annual report filing fee. “Annual Report
Reminder Notices” are sent to the e-mail address you provide us when you submit this document for filing. To file any time
after January 1
, go to our website at www.sunbiz.org. There is no provision to waive the late fee. Be sure to file before May
A letter of acknowledgment will be issued free of charge upon registration. Please submit one check made payable to the Florida
Department of State for the total amount of the filing fee and any optional certificate or copy.
A COVER letter should be submitted along with the application, certificate, and check. The mailing address and courier address
are noted below.
Any further inquiries concerning this matter should be directed to the Registration Section by calling (850) 245-6051.
Mailing Address: Street Address:
Registration Section Registration Section
Division of Corporations Division of Corporations
P.O. Box 6327 The Centre of Tallahassee
Tallahassee, FL 32314 2415 N. Monroe Street, Suite 810
Tallahassee, FL 32303