Southern Connecticut State University
Application for In-State Tuition
Generally, a st
udent’s residency classification is determined at the time of application for admission.
Any student classified as an out of state resident, who feels that he or she qualifies as a resident of
Connecticut in accordance with Connecticut General Statute 10a-26, may file this application at any
time to request a change of classification.
You may or may not be c
alled for an interview, after which you will receive notification of your
application status. If approved, reclassification will not be retroactive to prior semesters. As a
reminder, all students are subject to the Student Code of Conduct & Statement of Disciplinary
Procedures, which prohibits the act of providing false information to school officials.
STEP ONE: DE
TERMINE YOUR APPLICATION CATEGORY (Please select one):
□ A You are applying as an emancipated student using your own information. In order to
be an emancipated student, you must be at least 18 years old, you cannot receive regular
financial assistance from parents or guardians, and you must have resided in Connecticut for
at least twelve consecutive months
□ B You are applying as an unemancipated student using your parental or legal guardian
information. In order to be eligible as an unemancipated student using parental/guardian
information, your parents/guardian have to have resided in Connecticut for at least six
consecutive months and be employed full-time.
□ C You are applying as a Connecticut resident who attended two years of and graduated
from a Connecticut high-school. In order to be eligible, you must be a Connecticut
resident, have attended two years of a Connecticut high school, graduated from a
Connecticut high school (or the equivalent) and be registered as an entering student at or
enrolled in the University.
□ D You are applying as an emancipated student using your spouse’s information. In
order to be eligible to receive in-state tuition through your spouse, your spouse has to have
resided in Connecticut for at least six consecutive months and be employed full- time.
□ E You, your spouse, or a parent (if unemancipated minor) are a member of the military
(1) whose Home of Record is Connecticut;or (2) who is stationed in this state
pursuant to military orders. In order to be eligible as a member of the military, you, your
spouse, or a parent (if unemancipated), have to be stationed in the State of Connecticut
pursuant to military orders.
□ F You are a veteran, or dependent of a veteran, who resides in Connecticut and was
discharged no more than three years prior to enrollment, and after a period of at least
90 days’ active duty. Please contact the SCSU Veteran Services Office at (203)392-6822
for assistance verifying your eligibility for in-state tuition.
Do not complete this application packet.